The Cat’s Meow

I love my cats but I despise having a litter box. If only we had a laundry room! That said, I have made a step up with a washer/dryer in my garage as opposed to my college apartment where they were on my front porch.  Classy, I know.

Anyway, back to the litter box dilemma. The most unobtrusive place for it to sit has been in the corner of our “book nook” turned playroom. While not ideal, it is the only place where it’s accessible to the cats but out of any major traffic area. Of course, the last thing I want is my toddler thinking it’s a new toy. Not to mention the bulky gray plastic puts a damper on any sort of decorating efforts I’ve attempted. So,to avoid spending almost $100 on a SkyMall planter turned litter box, I made my own pretty kitty litter box cover.
After taking some measurements I headed to Ikea and found the perfect base: Kritter. How appropriately named! With a screwdriver and elbow grease it was put together in under 30 minutes.
 
 

Next up, the side cushions. With thin plywood cut to size (thank you, Home Depot!), 1″ foam to match (love JoAnn’s 40% coupons!), and a Greek key patterned fabric, I set to work with my staple gun.

 

I wanted the cushions to be flush with the legs of the table so I had to install all the brackets ahead of time. I used two per side with 1/4″ screws for a total of 16. It was important to alternate the placement of the brackets to ensure the screws would not hit each other. Then it was drill, baby, drill!

Once the brackets were secure it was time to put the cushions in place.  I made three cushions to fill in three of the spaces leaving one of the short ends open for the cats to get in and out.

And voila! A custom kitty litter box cover with style to boot for my two Puss in Boots.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Cat’s Meow

  1. this is a genius idea! I’m totally using it!

    what size did you cut the plywood to? that info would be really helpful.

    • Thanks! I’m sorry but I don’t have the exact measurements as it was a couple years ago and I’ve since dismantled it because we finally installed a cat door. I measured from the inside of the legs and knowing IKEA, each table might vary slightly after its put together. 🙂 For the fabric I used 1 3/4 yards of a duck cloth for its heavier weight. I’m sorry I can’t be of more help. I do have the hardware I used still and would be happy to mail it to you if you like.

      Good luck!

      –Audrey

  2. oh, one more thing. how many yards of fabric did you need? thanks!

Leave a Reply

