Let Them Eat Cake

Before I went out on my own as a freelancer (and mommy) I loved my job as a communications director for a local nonprofit. I was there for six and a half years and while I was there, we celebrated the organization’s tenth birthday and put together a year of some of the biggest events I’ve ever done. It was awesome, exhausting, exciting and some of the best times I’ve ever had in my career with the best people I’d ever worked with. At the end of the birthday year, I wanted to commemorate the milestone and recognize our team for their amazing dedication. We used cupcakes as a theme throughout the entire campaign so we gave felt cupcakes as gifts to each of our major donors. But as I have a tendency to do, I wanted my tenth birthday gift to the organization to be BIGGER.

Four months later, 3 yards of felt, and hundreds of hand sewn “sprinkles,” I surprised the staff and president with a life-sized, three-tiered cake featuring the organization’s logo on top, three different layers, and ten birthday candles. Dollops of whipped cream and a hand-embroidered felt “plaque” finished off the plate. The embroidery was my first-ever attempt and not my best but since it’s a nonprofit that helps teachers and students, I figured it might have an authentic look. It’s been more than two years since I finished it but I’m still super proud of it so I thought I’d post some pictures.

Brand management was a big part of my job and I often looked for new ways to get our logo out there creatively while still keep our brand integrity.  Since then I’ve helped a few other companies do the same with unique handmade client gifts or marketing products. This holiday an Oregon-based company commissioned SewSew to adorn their office Christmas tree with handmade felt ornaments with their logo. I ordered the red-orange wool felt from my fave felt shop on Etsy, Material Evidence, but found the steely gray at the local Joanns. Here’s a picture of the finished product.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Gift For Teaching, branding, Christmas ornament, felt, marketing, small business, unique client gifts

Leave a Reply

