Red, White, Blue and Avocados

I unintentionally took a Spring Sabbatical (I guess that’s what I’ll call it since it sounds better than making excuses about not posting.)

I’m feeling patriotic–maybe its our recent trip to DC or the upcoming Memorial Day weekend.

20120524-131403.jpg

Regardless, I can’t help but notice my current quilt project, a baby-sized quilt made from scraps I’ve found or collected, has taken on a color an pattern loosely based on the stripes of our grand ole flag.

Here’s a work in progress picture:

20120524-130853.jpg

While we were in DC we ate at a fantastic French restaurant and had an avocado salad I swore I’d attempt to recreate once I got home. Here’s my attempt and the recipe:

20120524-131842.jpg

Avocado Curry Salad
2 ripe avocados, diced into sizable chunks
1/4 cup of crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup of chickpeas
2 T of curry powder
1 T of extra virgin olive oil
1 t of salt
1 t of pepper

Mix together and serve over endive lettuce with halved cherry tomatoes and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Filling, delicious and healthy!

Leave a comment

Filed under fabric scraps, recipes, travel

Leave a Reply

