Winter and Spring, Night and Day, a Quilt Made With Love for Little Baby K!

I didn’t have much of a plan when I started this quilt. I knew I wanted it to reflect Baby K’s adventure-seeking,  nature-loving, modern mama and daddy. And I knew I wanted to create a modified flying geese pattern. And I LOVED these color combos–boyish but subdued. But what I didn’t expect as it came together is how perfect it would be for this adventurous family of three!

My favorite part about making my own patterns is that it’s hard to make mistakes–you just change up the original idea. It’s a great exercise in flexibility for the Type A gal that I am.

There were a few changes mid-layout, blocks finished and rearranged. When I finished the top and showed it to B before I started to quilt it he said, “Wow, I love how you made the mountains look like spring and winter in daytime and night.”

Um yeah, I TOTALLY meant to do that.

I guess my subconscious was channeling their Mount Kilimanjaro excursion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

